Annas Weblog


The bike project – part 4
July 22, 2008, 7:43 pm
Filed under: Bike Project | Tags: ,

The fork project

Well, well, well … where to start? Originally I thought it can’t be that hard to stick newspaper to the fork and make it last by varnish. Well, that proved to be wrong: After I stuck the newspaper on it, I got told that the varnish would macerate the paper. So I bought transparent film (for school books) and “sealed” the newspaper from any kind of moisture. That was hard, especially around edges and holes (e.g. low rider screws). However, I went back to my automotive paint shop and the two kindest Russians I have ever met. Many thanks to these guys! They explained me everything about the right varnish and needed accelerators (or hardeners). So I started to paint clear varnish on the layer of transparent film recognizing that in some spots the film did not fully cover the fork. Wherever there was only a tiny crack, the newspaper underneath turned grey. Wherever the film was not a hundred percent touching the newspaper, little bubbles built up underneath. However there was no way to change it. So I just went on with the varnishing process for 4 times (=4 layers). This took 2 days. I always went back and forth between work and paint shop in my lunch break, painted my fork, chatted with the Russians and went home to continue working.

When we recognized that there had to be another way, the Russians started to develop ideas and we tested them. This is why I bought another fork today (it’s only 10 Euros) and the next one is gonna be perfect for sure!

However, after we were done with the varnishing process, the owner of the automotive paint shop didn’t charge me anything and even asked me to come back which was really, really nice.

I took my fork and rebuilt my bike and here we go:

For the parts of the bike: If you don’t count the single screws, shims and grommets and take the single functional parts as an entire “thing” (e.g. brakes = 4 – making 2×2 brake entities with break shoes), you still come out at 109 parts. For the wheels every single spoke was counted (because the bike would work with one spoke less and there is the option of way less spokes) which makes one wheel already have 37 parts.

Am I counting raisins? – well, yes.

Am I nuts? – you choose.

What kind of investment would I need to go single speed? (prices in Euro)

2 race bike wheels (used) = 65,00 (wheel rim Mavic, hub Shimano) – you may get it for less

2 mantles (new) = 25,80 (Schwalbe Lugano) – you may buy them used for less

2 tubes (new) = 11,80 (Continental)

2 pairs of mini v-brake calipers (new) = 19,80 (Tectro) – good for this price (imo)

2 brake levers (new) = 10,00 (Vanguard) E-bay

1 headset (new) = 25,90 (Tecora) – good for this price (imo)

1 stem (slightly used) = 5,00 (3T) – pah! what a deal!🙂 – retail price: 49,90

1 chain (new) = 12,00 (KMC Kool) – you can get a chain for way less … but not a KOOL chain

1 chain ring = 9,00 (Shimano)

1 halflink = 2,90

1 fork (used) = 10,00 (Stevens) – what a deal, too!

11 spacers rear, 4 spacers Ahead = about 10,00 (ask for old cassettes at your local bike store and take the ones with allen key holes, tip the bike shop owner and give him a smile and you’re fine with less than that)

1 seatpost (new) = 7,50 (GID) E-bay

1 saddle (used) = 1,50 (E-bay)

1 handlebar (used) = ??

SUM=206,20 Euro. Cost estimate of the bike shop to fully fix it: 470,00. Saved: 263,80


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

